Pacific Blues

Image

 

 

[Left: New Pacific Blue, Right: Old Pacific Blue]

(1) We’re moved! Yay! I’m thrilled to have my polish collection & rack out of storage and up in the bathroom! Though I definitely need another one! I have this whole floating shelf in the bathroom taken up with polishes that I picked up in the last three months! Ahh!! And that’s not even including the bin of my daughter’s polishes!

(2) I don’t usually hear a lot about polishes outside of other bloggers and vloggers sharing their new color finds with us, but this one kept popping up: Sally Hansen’s Xtreme Wear in Pacific Blue. Everyone was saying the same thing; they changed the formula and it is terrible!! However, I wasn’t seeing any side-by-side comparisons and I had no experience with it myself; blue just isn’t a color that I pick for nail polish very often. Before these, I owned two: Zoya’s Sailor and CoverGirl’s Skylight. The latter of which was bought for a specific purpose and I’ve still not even opened the bottle. But curiosity got the better of me and Independence Day is coming up; that’s an excuse to add two blue polishes to the collection, right??

It didn’t take long to see what everyone was upset about…

Image

Left: The old formula. Right: The new. (Excuse the picture; I had the bright idea to do each hand with a respective polish for comparison…forgetting that I don’t have a third hand… Whoops! Phone hanging off my desk, taking a picture with my nose…what, what??) One coat of each.

If loved the old one, you will hate the new one. The old was a creme that went on nicely. The new is a jelly that is difficult to work with. 

Even more annoying is that they’ve recently released Royal Rage; which I didn’t buy (See, Sarah? I DO have limits!!), but which is featured here: lacqlustre.com And…it looks like what they meant the “new” Pacific Blue to be; a brighter, more-cobalt-than-cornflower blue. Why, Sally?! Why?! They could have just left Pacific Blue alone, released Royal Rage and forgotten about this thin, shimmery thing they’re trying to pawn off as 420 Pacific Blue. 

If you really want the old one before its gone, look for a polish that isn’t “sparkly” and sort of looks like a blue polish that someone poured milk into. On the ones that I have, you can also tell the difference by the sticker on top of the cap; the new has a black sticker with white lettering, the old is a silvery sticker that has to be held at an angle to be read. I’ve seen both new & old available at Walgreens and Meijer here.

Leave a Reply

