Buy This, Not That…

Eyelashes & Primers.

I woke up sick this morning, so I decided to clear out the things that I’ve been meaning to toss and feel a little bit productive without actually doing much…

Lashes…

trashmakeupblog 003

Left: Revlon Beyond Natural Flirty, Right: Cheapies from Amazon.

Price…

The Revlon lashes can be found at WalMart in the four pack shown for under $10.
The “cheapies” were about $7 for 10 pairs after shipping costs.
Esqido (which I haven’t tried, but which are supposed to be god’s gift to lashes are $34 for one pair.

Revlon lashes are good for about 4 wears, depending on how careful you are with them. That breaks down to about 63-cents a day/wear.

You’re probably not going to get more than one wearing out of the cheapies; the bands are really thin, so that’s 70-cents a day.

Esqido makes the claim that you can wear theirs up to 25 times; making their cheapest set at $34 break down to $1.36 a day.

Looks…

The Revlon ones look pretty natural. I wore them for getting married. My husband can tell that they’re falsies, but he looks at me every day and he still says that they look good.

Cheapies lie flat in the packaging and that’s hard to over come. I wrapped them around my index finger, holding them in place with my middle finger and thumb as long as possible and…they still were pretty flat. I always ended up with the inner corner of the lashes poking up out of my eyeliner, no matter how much bending, gluing and re-lining I did. Aaaand they look really plastic-y.

Esqido…see here: http://youtu.be/TqCUwa5PEto Tati uses them in a lot of her looks lately and they always look great. I’m still trying to justify the cost…and want to look more into their treatment of the minks.

This is all why the cheapies are going in the trash, the Revlon ones will stay close to my heart and the Esqidos are going on my wishlist.

Primers…

trashmakeupblog 004

Left: L’Oreal Magic Perfecting Base, Right: Garnier 5 Second Blur, Smashbox Photo Finish primer, Cargo blu_ray High Definition Mattifier.

I love L’Oreal for a lot of things, but…anything on the right is better than their “Magic Perfecting Base.” I think they should have put it in a tube and it would have worked better and kept better than it has. Notice all the products on the right come in tubes. It minimizes the surface area so it doesn’t dry out, which the L’Oreal has; its all clumpy and it just feels like I’m rubbing silicone on my face. The others make my skin feel silky and wonderful; not so much with the L’oreal. And I really don’t like having to put my finger in the pot to get the Magic Perfecting Base out of the pot. It goes under my fingernail its just…gross.

Cargo is $28 on Amazon.
Smashbox is $42 on Amazon; though for a much larger package than what I have pictured. (Mine is a free sample promotion they mailed to me last year.)
Garnier 5 Second Blur is around $20 and available everywhere.
L’Oreal Magic Perfecting Base is as low as $10 as an add-on through Amazon, but usually around $20 in stores.

Cargo wins it for me. Its worth the extra $8 over drug store (I had bought mine at Ulta last year, but I guess they’ve done away with Cargo products since then. I did notice that its now available at Khol’s. Though Khol’s cash may not work on it, you do still earn Khol’s cash on your purchases of the premium makeup brands. Yay!) and it works as good as Smashbox. When I use up my samples and my current tube of Cargo, I’ll be going back to re-buy Cargo.

Leave a Reply

