Nail Polish Haul & Things That Make Me Happy…

I guess since a few lot of these things are material things it deserves mention that there is a difference between “true happiness” and “pleasure.” I “get” that, I do. I just refuse to discount the [beyond momentary] value of “pleasure” items. If I were, say, going into debt with an apartment that was hoarded to fill a hole in my soul? Then I have a problem. That’s not the case. Yes, Zoyas and even China Glazes can add up, but I only buy Zoya a few times per year and only when it’s on sale and China Glazes only when I have a coupon for Sally’s. I never put any of it on a credit card and nothing else in my life ever suffers because of it. I’m not filling a void in my soul either; I’m just giving myself some little things to look forward to. That disclaimer out of the way…

Happy 002

Zoya ran a sale that was better than BOGO; it included free shipping AND full size of their polish remover!
Dream, Yuna, India, Monica, Veronica, & Katherine.

Happy 004

These are really random, but I had no neons in my collection and a coupon that was about to end so…
Pool Party, Celtic Sun, & Tropical Pop.

Happy 008

Golden Rust, Chili Flakes, Seared Bronze & First Mate…they all just called to me. I can stare at ‘First Mate’ in the bottle for hours, I swear.

Happy 020

These REALLY get me excited! When I was around 13 years old and just discovering nails and polish, the stores had entire racks dedicated to decals. The last few years…not so much. I don’t like the wraps; I can’t get them to work. Granted, I have some and I’ve been thinking about trying again after someone on YouTube said that it helps greatly if you heat them a bit with a hair dryer first, but my nails are so small that just trimming them down is a huge PITA. So when these from Kiss and Fingrs started showing up in the stores… SPLOOSH!

Snowonelikeyou

This also gets me super excited! It’s “There’s Snow One Like You.” I looked it up on Amazon after seeing a few swatches of this year’s collection’s “Chillin’ with my Snow-mies.” polish, which in basically a really, really, REALLY sparse white, matte confetti polish. I wanted snow, but this coming one wasn’t catching on fire for me. I think I ordered it on Tuesday and it showed up today! Which also makes me really happy! (I hate waiting for things to get here.)

Happy 010

Maybelline’s Matte lipsticks in Daringly Nude and Lust for Blush also make me smile! I don’t really dig the shiny lip look on me and it’s sort of hard to get away from without going to the MAC counter and…have I mentioned that I won’t mortgage my soul for my beauty products?? I have four from the collection, but these two are my favorites.

Happy 013

L’oreal’s Silkissime eyeliner pencils…just…OMG! In the last year I’ve spent…a good amount on premium brands of eyeliner. For some reason, the drugstore brands just haven’t been able to keep up and would be runny and smeary within a few hours. Not cute. I picked these up last night (on sale and with coupons and I’m pretty sure Meijer ended up paying me to take them LOL) because of Tati’s videos. I still didn’t expect much, but I took them home and drew hearts on the back of my hand with them. They went on super smooth and beautiful. I swooned, but with most products that apply smoothly, they also wipe off easily so I wasn’t expecting much. A bit later, hearts still on the back of my hand, I went to do dishes… I don’t use gloves.

afterdishes

Wow. A few hours later I showered. I don’t usually scrub the back of my hands unless I’ve swatched things and want to get them off. This was now a science experience. LOL Showering didn’t phase them. Then I went to bed a few hours later. I woke up and the metalics had pretty much gone away. The black? Still looked as good as it does here! It took another few hours, several hand washings, and a round of dishes before it’s now faded a bit — but you can still see that it’s a heart!! Finally a liner under $10 that stays put! This makes me soooo happy!

FredHat - Copy

Fred in cowboy hats also makes my heart smile.

Movie grass! I didn’t get to take a picture of it, but I noticed tonight, as the leaves have slowly started to drop, that the grass here is the fine, fluffy-looking grass that we don’t have in Florida and which I always thought was fake when I saw it in movies. The apartment complex’s landscapers were out yesterday; the grass is mowed, the leaves fell over night and…it’s…freakin’ beautiful! At least once a week, I full-stop and think, “I can’t believe I live here! SQUEEEE!!”

duckhunt

After yesterday’s blog post, my sister sent me this and that makes my heart smile, too! 🙂 (She got me ducks!)

I won’t post 50 million cat pictures here; that’s what Instagram is for! 😛 But the cats have been super snuggly because of the cooler weather and it’s freakin’ adorable! I kid you not; right now, Tiger is half-curled into a ball in front of the TV, watching the guy from Tosh 2.0 do a stand-up routine. He looks properly offended. 🙂

I stalked the tracking sites for my order from Loaded Lacquer will be here Monday and my tea-spree will be here on Tuesday!

mysisterstea

Tea spree!

washitape

Clearance washi tape also makes me happy! I have lots of scrap booking and paper crafting ideas in mind for these beauties!

There’s been a lot of cooking going on here lately and that will continue. Baking is about to increase as the weather cools. I’m very happy and excited about both of those things goin’ on in mah life.

I’ve also gotten really excited about the Halloween makeup and bought a small truck load of it to use for Princess’ costume. She’s going as Anna from the Frozen movie. I think these coming weekends we may just practice makeup and then she can run around with it on and we’ll both be happy.

I’m contemplating starting up some yoga again and jumping into the UK Harry Potter’s that my sister popped onto my Kindle. I really want to do both and I’m excited for both, but…haven’t…quite…stepped off that ledge yet. I’m getting there though and it makes me happy!

What has made you happy (or given you pleasure) this week?

Leave a Reply

