Sage Isabella & Depression

WIN_20151019_193325What happened? Where did September go?

On August 20th, Sage Isabella came into the world at 8 lbs., 12 oz. and nearly 22″ long. After that? September and most of October have been a blur…

I’m certain that it didn’t help that college started back up again just a few weeks after Sage came along and I’d decided to take two classes; one of which was a half-semester, condensed course. I’m not really sure what I was thinking just then, but it’s done and things are finally starting to feel “sort of” normal here.

I say “sort of” because I’ve still felt a bit out of sorts… Sage brought with her some post-partum depression; which, given the last few years, wasn’t all that hard to do. In fact, maybe it’s just regular old depression showing up to the party with his buddy, anxiety, and trashing the place. I can’t be sure and I don’t feel like it really matters…

halloweennailsWhat matters is that it’s here. What matters is how much of my life I allow it to leech away from me.

Some days are easier than others, but I’m trying. I’m trying to take some mental “down time” for myself. I’m trying to find joy in the things I once loved. I’m trying to spend quality time with my beautiful family. I’m trying to reestablish some routines.

Part of that last one involves writing more again. I used to blog almost daily. That was a long time ago (close to 6 years now), but I enjoyed it and it was cathartic in many ways.

I have some ideas about what I want to do here and how I want to get back into the “groove,” but it’s late, I’m exhausted, and I’ve come to really dislike making plans and then having to change them because…life. So, for now, I’m going to go to bed and come back soon to further reacquaint myself with blogging. 🙂

Leave a Reply

